Thanksgiving Connections

It never ceases to amaze me how much human beings need one another. Somehow, God created us in a way that we are not complete without a variety of relationships, good relationships, that make a difference in our lives.

As we enter the holiday season, I wonder, “What’s your favorite holiday?” For me, in terms of gathering, I prefer Thanksgiving because there’s less preparation and more time to enjoy.

The Thanksgiving Weekend is a breath of fresh air for all. I love spending extra time with family, friends, catching up on reading and a few chores (just a few!!)  as well. I also enjoy having time for paying more attention to any new connections that I may have made throughout the year.

Of course, since I’m in my First Year at First, I am blessed with many new connections. I am grateful for each and every one.

I am reminded how one of my new connections, Janet Godsy, is making her own new connections at First. Janet is a perfect example of what connecting at First is all about. Returning to church, currently, she is exploring various small groups, i.e. Sunday School classes. The challenge, she says, is that we have some many, each unique and enjoyable in its own way. I will be interested in knowing where she lands.

As we enter the holiday season, give thanks for your connections, including your Connections at First. Find a way to love God, others, and yourself even more as we prepare for the New Year.

Happy Thanksgiving one and all!

God’s best to you!

Dr. Alfie Wines, Associate Pastor of Connections

 

Leave a comment